Log in Subscribe

Members To Choose Three Directors


One of the guiding principles of an electric cooperative is that it is a democratic organization controlled by its members who actively participate. Upper Cumberland Electric Membership Corporation is counting on eligible members to get out and vote to fill the seats of three board members whose terms are expiring.

Before UCEMC holds the in-person 83rd Annual Meeting of the Members on Sept. 11, voters must fill these impending vacancies on the Cooperative’s Board of Directors. The Board comprises nine members, and each year, at least three seats are up for election on a rotational basis.

The terms of incumbent directors are expiring in District One, serving DeKalb, Macon, Smith, and Wilson counties, District Two, serving Putnam and White counties, and in District Three serving Clay, Fentress, Overton, and Pickett counties.

Qualifying candidates had a deadline of June 13 to file their petitions with UCEMC’s General Manager, Jennifer Brogdon, or Board secretary Alan Pippin. UCEMC has a Credentials Committee appointed and acting under the Cooperative’s Bylaws to keep this process separate from the Board of Directors. The Credentials Committee worked independently of the Board and has determined the eligibility of each petitioner to become a qualified candidate.

Candidates Joey Harper and Bradley West are running to represent District 1 on the Board. Mike Bowman is running against the incumbent, Rony Myers in District 2, and James F. Scarlett and Tim Sells seek election to represent District 3.

Members may cast their ballots at any of the cooperative’s district offices listed below, but due to ongoing construction at the Carthage District 1 office, members will vote at the UCEMC Corporate office at 907 Main Street North in Carthage this year. “We’re doing everything we can to get the word out about the change in Carthage’s voting location this year,” says UCEMC General Manager and CEO Jennifer Brogdon. ”We hope to see you cast your ballot at the Main Street Corporate office.” The polls listed below are open Friday, Aug. 27, and Saturday, Aug. 28, from 7 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Carthage – UCEMC Corporate office – 907 Main Street N., Carthage.

Cookeville – 1794 West Broad Street, Cookeville.

Livingston – 320 Celina Highway, Livingston.

Gainesboro – 1085 North Grundy Quarles Highway, Gainesboro.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here